Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Washington State University Extension Forestry Program

Welcome

The WSU Extension Forestry program provides objective, research-based education and resources for owners of forested property as well as the general public. We offer classes, workshops, and field days as well as publications, videos, and online resources to help you achieve your goals as a forest owner. We invite you to browse the vast resources on this site. If you have questions or need additional information, please don’t hesitate to contact us.

 

Local Extension Forestry Programs

  • North Puget Sound (serving Island, King, San Juan, Skagit, Snohomish, and Whatcom Counties)
  • Southwest Washington (serving Clark, Cowlitz, Grays Harbor, Lewis, Mason, Pacific, Thurston, and Wahkiakum Counties)

 

Forest Stewardship University

Forest Stewardship University offers a complete online education experience, featuring over 20 online mini-courses on a wide range of topics specific to Washington forests.

 

Forest Stewardship Notes

Subscribe to Forest Stewardship Notes, our free statewide e-newsletter. On the subscription page, be sure to select “Forest Stewardship Notes” as your newsletter choice (and any additional DNR newsletters you wish to receive). You will receive a confirmation e-mail after signing up. View archives.

 

Forestry as a Major, Minor, and Graduate Program at WSU

Learn about Forestry and other Natural Resource degrees offered at WSU.

Resource and Assistance Directories

Announcements and Events

Woodinville Forest Health Seminar
Tuesday, May 7, 2019

Clinton Native Tree Talk and Book Signing
Saturday, May 11, 2019

Tools and Equipment Demonstrations: Protecting Health, Habitat, and Reducing Wildfire Risk on Your Forest
Friday, May 17, 2019 (N. Spokane Co)
Friday, May 31, 2019 (Okanogan Co)

Madrone Webinar
Thursday, May 23, 2019

Skykomish Forest Health Seminar
Tuesday, May 28, 2019

Maple Valley Forest Health Seminar
Tuesday, June 4, 2019

Duvall Forest Health Seminar
Thursday, June 6, 2019

Forest and Range Owners Field Day
Glenwood, WA
Saturday, June 8, 2019

Hands-On Chainsaw Safety and Maintenance Training
Okanogan, WA
Friday through Saturday, June 21-22, 2019

ID/WA Forest Owners Field Day
Saturday, June 22, 2019

Enumclaw Forest Health Seminar
Tuesday, July 22, 2019

Puget Sound Forest Owners Field Day
Saturday, August 10, 2019 (details coming soon)

Steve Stinson Legacy – Forest Owners Field Day
McCleary, WA
Saturday, August 24, 2019

Preston Forest Stewardship Coached Planning Shortcourse
Tuesdays, Starting September 10, 2019

Vashon Forest Stewardship Coached Planning Shortcourse
Wednesdays, Starting September 25, 2019